Birthday 

Today, somewhere out there, he turns 39. 

His one birthday we had together wasn’t a pleasant one – and neither were the days before and after it. They were pretty bad. 

I sometimes used to sing The Carpenter’s “Top of the World” to him; although looking back, I definitely wasn’t on the top of the world. 

I’m not sure if I’d be able to honestly wish him a happy birthday, but I don’t wish a miserable birthday for him either. 

It’s just… his birthday. 

I just entered my 30’s this year, and he’s starting his last year in his 30’s. 

It’s just another day, but it is his birthday… wherever he is, whatever he’s doing. 

Leave a Reply

